Welcome to the P.J. Brophy Library
The library is dedicated to the memory of Father P.J. Brophy BD (1919–1989) who was born at Castlemore in the parish of Ballon/Rathoe. Fr. Brophy was President of Carlow College from 1970–1974. As the library bears his name, it also seeks to emulate his personal commitment, his breadth of vision for the Church and his openness to new ideas that are so necessary to the learning experience of our students.
The library itself was open to students at the start of the 2006 Academic Year and was officially dedicated by the then Uachtarán na hÉireann, Mary McAleese, on 19 December that same year. The library structure is housed inside the Sacred Heart Chapel, built in 1888 and designed by the architect, William Hague. Today it is a thriving centre of learning activities freely available to the students, teachers and staff of the College